thinkinglazy

Aspiring author and random thinker

On Exercise: Progress

I started noticing that as I increased the weights I train with, my I keep loosing proper form, it reached a level that when I squatted I couldn’t break parallel, so I decided to take a step back in my weights.

If you don’t want to be someone that has a stiff and unnatural walk, then you should make the most out of your exercise motion, try starting from the point of least muscle stress to the point of most muscle stress.

When I do bench presses I make sure that the bar touches my chest when lowering it, and the push motion ends at just before my elbows lock, this was the form I lost at 220 lbs, now I’m back to 190 lbs to master the form yet again.

Squatting used to hurt my knees and back occasionally, but since I started breaking parallel at the ‘down’ motion, the pain is completely gone, and the soreness resonates to to areas that it didn’t reach before.

From now on I will prioritize form over gains or weight increases, this should result in a better overall posture, more flexibility and eventually getting a stronger and fitter body.

Leave a Reply

