thinkinglazy

Aspiring author and random thinker

On Exercise: Progress

It has been quite a while since I posted something, been very busy lately with my new business and haven’t been finding the time to update this blog.

Anyway, about six weeks ago I was finished with my first round of power-lifting routine, it lasted around four months and I gained 13 kilograms. The strength and weight gains were ridiculous, especially for a strict no supplement diet.

Ever since I completed the first cycle of my power-lifting routine, I have been preparing for the second cycle, this time calisthenics will be added to the routine and the rest days will be reduced from four to one.

An extra addition would be the daily 20-40 minute cardio which will be split to 20 minutes on different machines rotating between rowing, treadmill and elliptical.

power-lifting days will be split among 4 different exercises, squats, bench press, military press and deadlifts. day one will include 5×5 squats with increments of 5 lbs per workout, 5×5 bench press with increments of 5 lbs per workout. day two will include 5×5 squats with increments of 5 lbs per workout, 5×5 military press with increments of 5 lbs per workout and 1×5 deadlifts with increments of 10 lbs per workout.

If I fail to complete the designated sets and reps the weight will remain the same for the following workout.

As for the calisthenics days, I will not follow a particular routine or exercising patterns, A total of 4 exercises will be completed per day each with 3 sets of no more then 12 reps. I will be adding weights to attempt and reach muscle failure by the 10th rep of the final set.

So basically I will have one day of power-lifting and one day of calisthenic-based training with cardio as a warm-up for each workout.

The previous cycle improved my strength and added a decent amount of weight, this routine is aimed at further increasing strength, stamina and endurance.

The following are the weight I started training with for the first cycle:

  • Bench Press (135 lbs)
  • Military Press (95 lbs)
  • Squats (115 lbs)
  • Barbell Rows (115 lbs)
  • Deadlifts (185 lbs)

The weights I reached by the end of the cycle:

  • Bench Press(225 lbs)
  • Military Press (135 lbs)
  • Squats (225 lbs)
  • Barbell Rows (155 lbs)
  • Deadlifts (335 lbs)

I will keep you guys posted, good luck.

Leave a Reply

