thinkinglazy

Aspiring author and random thinker

On Writing: Progress and Notes

About a month ago I decided to start working on my second book and set a goal to write at least 1,000 words a day. Although it seemed an easy task to do, the process of daily writing is incredibly challenging.

Yesterday was one of my most ‘blanky’ days. I spent at least two hours staring at my computer in an attempt to squeeze out the outline of my first chapter (Since I have been preparing the outline for each chapter just before writing it as I mentioned before). Eventually I managed to complete a half descent one, but it did not please me, and I am contemplating re-writing it before I start working on the chapter itself. However, I do realize that at my low writing skill-level there is no way for me to complete a novel with no imperfect chapters.

The dilemma I am currently facing is to proceed or not to proceed (that is my question).

2 responses to “On Writing: Progress and Notes

  1. indytony February 6, 2013 at 1:34 am

    It is perfectly natural to have writing efforts that seem to go amiss. You may choose to take a detour with this particular section, but keep moving forward with your writing as a whole. You don’t have to be Faulkner for your work to be worthwhile.

    And hey, it’s better than watching junk on TV, isn’t it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

