thinkinglazy

Aspiring author and random thinker

On Writing: Outline

I wrote my first story (75,000 words) without using an outline and completed it in just under a month. I enjoyed writing and often sought to make time during my day to write. There were the occasional days where I managed to write 10,000 words and others where I wrote none.

However, I thought that my story seemed a little foggy in terms of plot development, in spite of the reviewers telling me that it was fine. Due to the self-non-satisfying plot development, I decided to prepare an outline for my second story before writing it. It went smoothly as I started off and motivated me to keep on writing, but as I got deeper into the story its shining faded away. Finishing it started to feel like a chore.

Eventually I decided to merge the first and second volumes into one bigger book of 120,000 words. Nevertheless, the stop between both books as well as the improvement in my writing skills gave me the impressions that he style changes drastically by the end.

The third and current project was my final and most successful attempt at making the plot smooth (so far). Instead of preparing the outline in one sitting before I start to write, I decided to prepare each chapter’s outline just before writing it. This method cost me the flow of the story a little as my ideas and concepts about the story develops. However, it does help keeping me motivated to write and continue with the story. Each chapter is dedicated to part of the protagonist’s journey with a complete set of story elements. In other words, each chapter feels more like a short story which ties into the main plot.

So far the biggest challenges I met in writing long stories were (1) keeping my goals in perspective, (2) keeping motivated to write, (3) finding appropriate historical figures or myths to base the lore on, and (4) preparing a smooth outline that dictates the story flow.

Although my journey as an amateur writer had just begun, I already feel it improving me.

4 responses to “On Writing: Outline

  1. Dmichaleski February 17, 2013 at 12:53 am

    Hey! What I find to help me with writing consistently is to write a brief outline of each chapter like you said that you’ve done. Basically, i write a “What’s the point of this chapter” kind of paragraph describing it. For my short stories I simply go off a spark of emotion and try to hold on to it through the whole thing.
    I can definitely agree with the problem of keeping motivated to write. Recently, I find working out (mainly Cardio) really wakes me up mentally and I’m more eager to either write or plan afterwards.
    Good Luck 🙂

    Like

  2. Jill Weatherholt February 17, 2013 at 2:35 am

    Wow ~ 10,000 words in one day! That is a major accomplishment. My biggest challenge is dealing with distractions, but I’m working on it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

