thinkinglazy

Aspiring author and random thinker

On Writing: Discovery vs. Outlining

My new tactic of outlining my chapters before writing them served me well while working on the first part of the book I am currently working on. However, as I dig deeper into the story, the strategy seems to loose both its effectiveness and efficiency. I am currently half way through the second part and its seems that I am utterly lost.

There are two options I am currently aware of regarding the new hindrance, (1) to work on completing an outline for the remaining half of the part, or (2) to take a break from the current project and start working on improving another aspect of my writing. Nevertheless, It is unlikely that I would be capable of taking a break from an uncompleted story.

PS: so far the book stands still at 56,000 words.

2 responses to “On Writing: Discovery vs. Outlining

  1. Dmichaleski March 8, 2013 at 1:16 am

    I think it would be a good idea to take a break for a few days as long as your staying productive on other aspects of writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

