thinkinglazy

Aspiring author and random thinker

On Writing: Hypothoses About Good Writing

I have been reading a lot lately and realized that the ending can turn an average book into a masterpiece, or a masterpiece into [a] useless read. The books I tend to enjoy the most are the ones which conclude by leaving you thinking about one statement that summarizes the purpose of the main plot. While this is relatively easy to do in short stories, it becomes somewhat of a challenge for novels.

If not for reading , analyzing, and writing short stories, I would have never reached this conclusion and appreciation to these types of books. However, this does not mean that all other factors of writing are useless, for I still find a good writing style important, but not critical for all genres.

So far my writing journey taught me far more than I expected, in a far shorter time-span than I anticipated. Again, I would recommend others to pick it up as a hobby, or at least try it sometime.

2 responses to “On Writing: Hypothoses About Good Writing

  1. averythorne March 27, 2013 at 3:25 am

    That’s a freaky-looking moster you have on the top of your blog. Where’d you find it?
    Cause, frankly, every story could have a good ending if that thing appeared.
    Even rom-coms.

    Like

Leave a Reply

