thinkinglazy

Aspiring author and random thinker

On Writing: Breaking the Streak

Writing has been a somewhat difficult activity to engage in these past few weeks. Thanks to the outline I had prepared earlier, I had no shortage of ideas, just willpower to sit and write.

I still forced myself to write the 1,000 words, brought down from the unreasonable 2,000, I promised myself to write every day and followed the outline as much as I could, deviating whenever something seemed a little too amateurish or simply not to my liking.

Yesterday, when it was time for bed – the good ideas always come then, I decided to force myself to sit for a nice three hours after I awoke and write as much as I could during this time, following the outline for my current book of course. This, however, was an unrealistic prospect once the day began. I woke up, had breakfast and picked up a book I just started reading the other day. Before I knew it, I flipped the last page of the book and realized that it was time for lunch, a welcoming timing according to my stomach. I ate heartily and retired to my desk where my computer taunted me. At that moment, satiated and quenched, I remembered my somewhat informal pledge to myself the other day and opened that aging document titled ‘Deliverance Edge’, a title I intend to change once the story is finished. Four hours later, and 4,000 words too, I found that undesirable feeling of not wanting to write completely withered away. I finally broke the curse.

This poor piece of writing is meant to do one thing, and one thing alone, which is to give new writers an idea on how to break through the willinglessness to write which occasionally preys on us. What happened today was something psychologists would refer to as ‘flooding’, a term usually referring to a method of managing fears. I am not sure if the term ‘flooding’ applies to this particular case, but I would say that, at least, a similar concept exists when trying to break free from a writing stalemate.

Leave a Reply

