thinkinglazy

Aspiring author and random thinker

On Business: and Everything Else

I read an article about Sony just yesterday and it made me think more than I thought it would. Although This article is titled On Business, it is really relevant to everything else. Writers will definitely understand.

When I was sixteen years old, a time that seems so far away, I used to go once every week to play computer games with my friends – we were particularly fond of strategy games. I seldom went with the same people, but there was this one guy that would always come with me. We often played against one another and he always beat me, without ever revealing his secret to his ongoing success.

Many years later the topic came up and I asked him: “How come you always used to win?” His answer was simply: “Micro-management.”

Being an avid player at the time, I understood the term. Micro-management is exactly what it sounds like, paying attention to the small details in context of larger goals. In other words, treating every unit as if it matters the most.

By now most of you are guessing ‘What the hell is this guy talking about!’ but I am talking about a simple truth that we often overlook. In our pride and avarice, we tend to forget the little things, and sometimes they matter just as much as the big ones do.

Sony, being the giant at the time with its game-changing inventions, forgot that all what they achieved was because of the diligent work of their loyal inventors. These women and men were neglected and, naturally, they were sought out by a poorly-performing company at the time, Samsung, and given the liberties they wanted to satiate their curiosities to their hearts’ content.

Samsung made it to where they are today only because of one thing, Micro-management. They treated their inventors as Sony should have and gave them the opportunity to do what they love best.

What amazes me, however, is that a sixteen-year-old boy knew about Micro-management while an international giant such as Sony did not. I wonder how often does it happen that experience is beaten by simplicity.

Leave a Reply

