thinkinglazy

Aspiring author and random thinker

It takes me a while to prepare this new year resolution thing

I have to say that since the new millennium I have been taking my resolutions very seriously, rarely failing to achieve them. The trick, however, is not of my overly-diligent nature, but realism. Your goals have to be SMART, as per the notorious misters George Doran, Arthur Miller, and James Cunningham. SMART is simply an acronym for: Specific-Measurable-Attainable-Realistic-Timely.

Anyway, I would highly recommend you to try setting goals based on these five criteria and you should not limit it only to new years. So what if you fail at meeting them? Just pick yourself up and try again next year or maybe before that.

For this year my goals are: learn to comfortably speak Turkish; write an additional 600,000 words, bringing my total over 1,000,000; and venture beyond my comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

