thinkinglazy

Aspiring author and random thinker

On Philosophy: Where Am I and Where to Go?

I often ask myself: ‘Who do I want to become?’ and start listing the many things about myself that I want to change. This exercise ends up taking the whole day and providing an unimaginably long list of characteristic and behavioral attributes that need improvement, or change altogether.

Then a simple task becomes somewhat of an obsession that appears in everything I see; every conversation I hear; every smell that makes its way into my nose; every spec of dust that touches my skin; and every exotic taste that finds itself on my tongue. It takes over most of my thoughts, thankfully without hindering my functionality.

It is, I have to say, an exhilarating experience to purposefully go through this life-changing process of awareness. But, unfortunately, it does not leave me without more questions and on a clear path to whereas I want to go. And it often makes me wonder: ‘Am I happy with who I have become?’ The second question, however, usually leaves me more tryst.

Today, thought, was special, and I found myself, for the very first time, with an answer to my second self-inquiry: ‘I am happy with who I have become because there is still so much to do. And that means that I am alive and have a reason to continue on living; it means that, for now, there is purpose in my life.’

Leave a Reply

