thinkinglazy

Aspiring author and random thinker

On Writing: Getting in the Mood

So I haven’t been posting anything here in a month or two due to my abnormally busy schedule. I am starting to understand just how difficult it is for non-full-time writers to finish any of their work.

I’ve had a week off and used it to work on my fifth book, which had been left untouched for over a month. To my surprise, I found myself completely lost, both in terms of story and mood. It took me two days of rereading the chapters I write and fiddling with the outline to adjust it to my current mood, or perhaps to get into the mood which I intended to write with, and finally continue.

Writing a book while keeping the same general thoughts and emotions during the process is critical, I noticed, for the harmonious flow. Thus I suggest any writer to work on your book every day, or at least every other day, to keep doing progress in it and, most importantly, to keep it in mind and heart.

If I had not prepared an outline, the whole 15k words I wrote would have surely gone to waste.

3 responses to “On Writing: Getting in the Mood

  1. Richard M.G. April 20, 2014 at 12:41 am

    I know how you feel. I’m in the process of completing my second book and it’s tough trying to get some writing done with online classes, an 40 hour a week internship, and graduation coming up. And it’s frustrating cause you want to get work done on your manuscript and you can’t cause of other obligations and you just feel out of place if you don’t.

    Hang in there, though!

    Like

  2. chrispearsontx May 9, 2014 at 11:58 pm

    thinkinglazy. I like your post because it reminds me to write every day, no matter what. Even if it is a single sentence, it keeps me in the thick of my prose. Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

Leave a Reply

